FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS


Yes, you will be able to receive a call even if you aren’t connected to the internet as grptalk works on PSTN (public switched telephone networks).

No, the app doesn’t have to be installed by the members. However, the host, who initiates the call, needs to install grptalk on his/her device.

Yes, you can call someone who isn’t in your contact list. You can dial the number by using the phone or web app during the call.

If you miss a grptalk call, the grptalk server will call you two more times to connect you to your call. If you miss all three calls, you can still dial the number you missed the call from, and join the conference, provided the call is still active.

No, you won’t be able to use your grptalk account on multiple phones. If you activate your account on the second phone, your account will be deactivated on the first phone and the grptalk history will be transferred to the new phone.

Group Settings

Enabling this feature, disables dial-out (grptalk server calling all the members) for all members. When dial-in only is active, all call members will receive a “conference alert SMS” (sent on scheduling the conference) and a “conference reminder SMS” (sent to members 30 minutes before the scheduled conference call), displaying the grptalk phone number and a PIN to join the conference.

This feature allows even non-group members to join the conference, by dialing the grptalk number and entering the assigned PIN. The PIN will be included in the “conference alert SMS” (sent on scheduling the conference) and a “conference reminder SMS” (sent to members 30 minutes before the scheduled conference call).

Yes you can! And, when you do so -

  • All members and non-members of the conference group can join the conference by dialing the grptalk number and entering the dedicated PIN , shared in both the “conference alert SMS” and “conference reminder SMS”.

No, they can’t! We use PINs to authenticate non-members who join the conference, and to help us identify a member’s correct audio conference.

When you select this feature, all the members (Dial-In & Dial-out) will be connected to the conference in mute mode except the “Host”; and whenever needed, the host can unmute the whole conference or a specific member. This feature is helpful for the conferences with more than 10 members.

The dial-in only feature must be enabled for you to use this feature. The open bridge line before 30 minutes allows the host the option to open a bridge line (for selected members) 30-mins before the conference’s scheduled time. If you want a private chat with a few members, you can ask them to dial-in to the bridge line number before the conference begins.

Features

You can connect up to 15,000 participants on a single call.

You can mute a member by clicking on the ‘Mute’ option against the particular member’s name, displayed on the live grptalk panel. You can also mute all members at once using the ‘Mute All’ button, a button located just above the host’s name.

Yes, the host can add or remove members while the conference call is still active.

Yes, you can record grptalk conversations and also download individual recordings in grptalk’s history tab.

You can view the call history under the ‘History’ button of a particular group call. You can get details about members who attended the call, get call recordings and call charge details and have the option to get a detailed call report emailed to your address.

No. Your scheduled grptalk for tomorrow will be initiated as planned, unless you cancel the schedule call.

The "Private Room” feature, which is only available on the web interface, allows the host to have a private conversation with selected member(s) during the live audio conference.

Yes! The host can select any call member as a joint admin for a group call.

The “Private Room” feature is only available on the web interface, and it allows the host to have a private conversation with any member(s) during the audio conference. The “Open bridge line” feature, which is available on both the app and the web interface, allows the host the option to open the bridgeline 30 mins before a call, and selected members can join the bridgeline.

Call Charges & Payment

Our conferencing plan depends on three factors — number of participants on a single conference, number of calls per month, and time that you spend on each call. For example, if you have 5 participants on one call (including yourself), and you have 2 conference calls in a month for 10 minutes each, you will be charged for 100 minutes (5 x 2 x 10)

Yes. Every grptalk user gets 15 minutes of conferencing (everyday) with 10 participants (including yourself) for the first 7 days after installing the app. Once, the 7-day trial is over, users can choose from one of our packages or recharge your account directly from the Google Play or App Store.

grptalk calls members on their mobile phones, and uses network operator lines. Therefore, regular carrier charges along with a minimum service cost will apply.

You can see your account balance on the home screen — under the ‘Account’ tab in the Main Menu.

You can talk with up to 20 members using the bonus group minutes.

Yes, you can split these 15 minutes of bonus group minutes over multiple calls.